Concluding entry for Module 7

How time flies when I applied for a leave of absence in MDC to pursue Professional Teaching Certificate course here in UPOU, and after three semesters, I have developed a profound respect for teachers, tutors, and I developed much more empathy with them because teaching is not a simple job, not merely teaching with blackboard and chalk but so much more.

And with all the modules that I have read here in EDS 151, I found them all meaningful and useful. As an aspiring teacher, one must not stop gaining knowledge. Especially now, we are in the age of technology, we must adapt and incorporate multimedia materials in our lectures, activities to further engage students.

EDS 151 has taught me that students are not merely students but they have different learning styles and we as a teacher should be keen observer and help them realize on how they can learn more. It is my job as tutor to present ways or lectures in a creative way since young students tend to be visual.

And being creative also comes having a solid knowledge of the subject, topic, that we are going to teach our students. Reading materials about TPACK mainly stressed that teachers should continue to check on its understanding of topic to further expand the lesson, try to incorporate technology in the lesson to help students not to be passive learners but they can construct their own answers as well.

As a parent I realized that with the module that tackled about Internet, we have to be vigilant about the dangers of browsing the internet especially when the students are not guarded by adults or they don’t have information on what makes an internet site legit.

I’m very happy with the whole experience because this class also allowed me to teach preschool students using our group’s project and seeing their faces on how happy they were when they answered our questions correctly was an incredible high!

We showed our visula materials with the use of laptop, screen projector and they were in awe. They were able to point out  difference between a clean and dirty surrounding. that alone proves that teachers still depend on visual materials to stress on certain points, they keep the students engaged and they helped them think critically.

Time definitely flies so fast and I’d like to thank Teacher Roja for all the forums, they helped me sharpened my mind. to my classmates, I’ve learned a lot from you guys and to my group G gang, you’re the best, guys!you inspire me to be a better tutor!

Leave a Reply

